Twitter is making some major changes to its private messaging feature.
The company on Thursday announced in a tweet that it’s making direct message conversations “more dynamic than ever” with read receipts (those little check marks that appear under your message indicating that the recipient saw it), typing indicators (the three moving dots that show up when a person is responding), and Web link previews, so you can see a little bit about a link before you click on it.
If those features sound familiar, it’s because Facebook Messenger and the Facebook-owned chat service WhatsApp have had them for a while now.
Twitter’s new read receipt feature is enabled by default, but rest assured that you can disable it from the Settings menu if you’re not into the idea of people being able to see that you read their message. To disable it, head over to Settings, tap “Privacy and content,” and turn off “Send/Receive read receipts.” Once you do that, Twitter won’t reveal to anyone that you saw their DM, and you won’t be able to see read receipts from other people either.
Note that read receipts are only viewable on Twitter’s apps for iOS and Android. You can’t see them on Twitter.com, but they’ll still be sent when you view something there.
The new features come after Twitter last year increased the 140-chacracter DM limit to 10,000 characters, giving users more room to say what they want to say. It also allowed users to DM non-followers.
Meanwhile, Twitter also today made a change to its live-streaming app Periscope: You can now see when people you follow join your broadcast.